My last appointment with my OB/GYN was a regular check up to see how my body was handling the medications I am currently on.  I am on two of them right now other than my vitamins. One is called Metformin. Metformin is a newer method of treating ovulation issues in women with PCOS as well as an oral drug to help control diabetes. Clomid is an oral medication that can be used to stimulate ovulation. Usually the two are used together to increase ovulation. I am not on Clomid just yet, but I dMenstrual-circleo assume that’ll be in my near future.

The other medication I am on helps regulate my menstrual cycle. This medication is called Provera. As you may or may not know, without birth control or a medication like Provera, women with PCOS can experience an irregular menstrual cycle which then in turn can cause tracking their ovulation time frame very difficult. And that should be obvious as to why that is an issue to conceive a child.

At that same appointment, my doctor decided it would be a good idea to test both myself and my husband to make sure our reproductive systems were working the way they should be. My husband was to get a sperm analysis done (which has been completedovariancycle and we are currently waiting on the test results…) and once we know his results and depending on what the results are, I will then continue to get my own testing completed. There are plenty of tests they can do such as checking my ovaries, my eggs and everything else that is important to conceive and possibly house a healthy and fertilized egg.

In the summer, I had a different appointment where I got an ultrasound to check on my ovaries for any cysts and that is where they found one on the right side. One sounds bad, but it isn’t as bad as it could be, trust me. Even with that one cyst, she said I looked very healthy. However obviously there is something causing an issue for us to conceive, and maybe it isn’t medically either of us, maybe it’s stress related or a whole other issue we just haven’t found out yet.

All I know is we are eagerly awaiting my husband’s test results and I look forward to finding out my own results soon after. It will wrack me with a mixture of emotions; anxiety, curiosity, fear… But I know in the end, it will be a good thing even if it means confirming our worst nightmare. PCOS-labeled-web

I hope you enjoy the wonderful diagrams, maybe they will help you understand more about a normal ovary vs. a poly one.
Leave a Reply

